We're Open
9am-5pm

(Ski Lodge) Aigle Reviews

7 reviews of (Ski Lodge) Aigle in Tignes, France.

Voted 30th out of 61 reviewed hotels in Tignes France

  • Superb(3)
  • Good(3)
  • O.K.(1)
  • Poor(0)
  • Awful(0)

↓ You SNO best ↓

Write a Review

Is (Ski Lodge) Aigle available on your dates?
and
Show me Sort 7 reviews by Date Rating
Deborah from Surrey has written 1 review and been voted helpful 2 times

A really lovely week.

Reviewed 8 Jun 2016

Fantastic, the staff were lovely! The cakes, canapés and food were some of the best parts of the holiday, and the whole week was just perfect, we couldn’t have really wanted anything more. You can literally ski in, it’s pretty much 2 minutes to the slopes. Our room was small but that’s understandable, the view was lovely. I would have liked clean towels twice rather than once in the week, but that’s the only thing. It was a really fun week overall!

Helpful review?
2
Karen Donald has written 1 review and been voted helpful 2 times

First snow holiday

Reviewed 2 Jun 2016

The hotel was lovely and beds most comfortable we were a mixed family group of a 11 year old boy his ageing grandmother and two nieces in their early twenties we had two double rooms one with shared balcony but both were clean comfortable shower was great after a day's skiing. The swimming pool and sauna were also very nice and relaxed tired muscles. The food was delicious and having 3 fussy eaters I was a little concerned that they would not be appreciative.. 4 courses at dinner and the fresh baked cake and coffee in the afternoon were delicious The scenery was breathtaking staff were friendly and attentive. Always available to answer queries or give tips on best places to lunch etc.. All and all we had a very enjoyable stay 1 week. The only thing I would have changed are the lounge chairs they were not the most comfortable seats. My family and I would definitely stay there again

Helpful review?
2
A.N. has written 1 review and been voted helpful 1 time

Aigle lodge review

Reviewed 31 May 2016

In general our week at the lodge was fine. The place itself is very nice, the staff were friendly and we liked the food. Stayed here April 2016.

Helpful review?
1
Alison from Bath has written 2 reviews and been voted helpful 3 times

Generally all very happy

Reviewed 22 Apr 2015

The ski lodge worked well as we were a big group of 3 families. There was one other big group and a couple of families and it was all really sociable.
The people running the chalet did a good job (especially considering it was the first week of the season) and the food was generally nice. The bedrooms were a bit tight but that’s made quite clear on the website and when you’ve been skiing all day you just want to crash anyway. The sitting area had just about enough room, though some people pointed out that the chairs were quite big and took up a lot of space. Some people ended up sitting around the dining room table which wasn’t really a problem.
The snow wasn’t low enough for us to be able to ski from/to the door but walking into town was doable.

Helpful review?
2
Anthony Brown from Berkshire has written 4 reviews and been voted helpful 15 times

Not quite what I expected, but perfectly adequate

Reviewed 20 Mar 2015

The Aigle Ski Lodge was perfectly adequate but to be brutally honest it wasn’t quite the standard I was expecting. It’s billed as a 4.5 stars– had it been billed as a 3 star it would have been perfectly acceptable as I’d have arrived with different expectations. I prefer a 4-5* standard and would have happily paid more to have a better environment, but as it was we did get a fantastic deal.

It’s worth mentioning that this is a ski lodge rather than a chalet. I’ve stayed in ski hotels before and the reason I chose a chalet this season is that chalets are cosier and more intimate. The way the seating in the Aigle was organised in the dining and social areas wasn’t very cosy or chalet-like: the dining area was big with rectangular tables laid out in a horse shoe and it was in the same room as the seating area for socialising, which was made up of tub chairs (more like a hotel/doctors waiting area than somewhere everyone could relax together). Separate rooms would have felt a bit cosier.

Overall the meals were fine - not stunning but good. We had a Christmas banquet and the staff were certainly very accommodating on the one evening that fish was the main meal; my son and I don’t eat fish and when we explained this to the chef, he made us a different option which we appreciated.

It was a bit of a trek down onto the main slopes because although the snow was good on most pistes, the one closest to us wasn’t open. In better snow, the location would be good.

Helpful review?
2
Thomas from Wandsworth in UK has written 1 review and been voted helpful 1 time

Cool facilities, super food

Reviewed 28 Jan 2014

Stayed here in Feb with 3 mates. The swimming pool and sauna were really nice and staff were really helpful. I was surprised how good the food was, we got a choice of 2 starters and main courses and I was really impressed. This is one of my favourite resorts I like the fact theres a lot in Tignes. The ski area has lots of off piste and a very good park. I’d say it’s good for groups, we went out most nights, went to Loop quite a lot and Marmots and Alpaca.

Helpful review?
1
Jackie from London in UK has written 16 reviews and been voted helpful 18 times

Would go back; above average 4star

Reviewed 19 Jan 2014

The piste used to be next door but now there is construction going on (only actually building during the summer), with new accommodation going up only to be ready by next season (winter of 2014/2015). You are still within 50m of the piste so I'd still class it as practically doorstep skiing. The inside of the Aigle is comfortable and the rooms are light and airy, nothing fancy but quite a high standard. My favourite parts: The views are amazing and there was fab under floor heating which is so great in socks are a day in hard ski boots. There is a cool bar in the entrance and a pool downstairs. A place I would stay again.

Helpful review?
1
 
Enquire Now
020 8133 8899

← online or call ↴
020 7770 6888
more