Package - what's included - what's included & available - what's included plus available extras - what's included & what extras are available

Accommodation
Half Board
Flights Included
Transfers
No Lift Pass
No Ski Rental
No Boot Rental
No Ski School

Overview - hotel description - Hotel Sunstar description

Located directly opposite the ‘First’ gondola, the Sunstar is a spacious hotel offering an excellent range of facilities in a convenient location for the skiing and resort amenities.


Families - any extra notes for parents with children

Family friendly facilities: • Highchairs in the restaurant • Cots and linen


Facilities - Hotel Sunstar features

  • Extensive spa with indoor pool, aroma-steambaths, sauna and fitness room (free), massage, beauty treatments and solarium (pay locally)
  • Open-plan lounge with fireplace, pianist in the evenings
  • Cosy bar
  • Dining room
  • à la carte restaurant
  • Weekly activity programme including sledging and snowshoeing (pay locally)
  • Programme of events over Christmas/New Year included
  • Wi-Fi throughout and public PC with internet access (free)
  • Lift

Special attractions:

  • Directly opposite the gondola for Grindelwald's own 'First' ski area
  • The hotel enjoys an ideal location for the skiing and is close to the resort's après-ski and nightlife,
  • 3 minutes' walk (300m) from the village centre
  • The resort bus stops just outside
  • Swiss Short Breaks available from 3 nights upwards - includes free 1st class upgrade, book by 31 October 2013

Room Types - bathrooms beds & sleeping

  • 217. Twins have bath, radio, minibar, telephone, hairdryer, safe and cable TV.
  • Those with south-facing balcony have fabulous views of the surrounding mountains, including the Wetterhorn and Eiger
  • Single rooms have shower

Meals - food and drink in Hotel Sunstar

  • Buffet breakfast
  • 5 course evening meal with choice
  • Guests receive a credit of Sfr25 if they wish to dine à la carte
  • Weekly candlelight dinner or buffet
  • Gala menus over Christmas and New Year included

Special dietary requirements catered for: • Gluten Free • Vegan • Vegetarian

We update Hotel Sunstar's details often, but facilities do change. e.g. some extras listed by the supplier as "free" or included might only be for the first time you use them, or for one time per party, then charged for further use. If any specific feature is essential to your holiday, make sure you ask us to confirm the details of it before you book your holiday.

Availability - dates & airports - dates & departure airports - hotel dates & departure airports - Hotel Sunstar dates & departure airports

Price per person with: Prices shown are per person based on: Prices shown are per person based on: The prices shown here are per person and based on the following criteria:
Sat 25 Feb 201725/02/17
available Heathrow
Sun 26 Feb 201726/02/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Stansted
Mon 27 Feb 201727/02/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Stansted
Tue 28 Feb 201728/02/17
available Heathrow
Wed 01 Mar 201701/03/17
Sold Out 
Thu 02 Mar 201702/03/17
Sold Out 
Fri 03 Mar 201703/03/17
Sold Out 
Sat 04 Mar 201704/03/17
£1350
Sun 05 Mar 201705/03/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Stansted
Mon 06 Mar 201706/03/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Stansted
Tue 07 Mar 201707/03/17
available Heathrow
Wed 08 Mar 201708/03/17
available Heathrow
Thu 09 Mar 201709/03/17
Sold Out 
Fri 10 Mar 201710/03/17
Sold Out 
Sat 11 Mar 201711/03/17
£1028£649
Sun 12 Mar 201712/03/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Stansted, Birmingham, Manchester, Without Flights, Dover Ferry(Self drive), Folkestone Ferry(Self drive)
Mon 13 Mar 201713/03/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Stansted
Tue 14 Mar 201714/03/17
available Heathrow
Wed 15 Mar 201715/03/17
available Heathrow
Thu 16 Mar 201716/03/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Stansted, Manchester
Fri 17 Mar 201717/03/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Manchester, Edinburgh
Sat 18 Mar 201718/03/17
£978£969
Sun 19 Mar 201719/03/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Stansted, Birmingham, Manchester, Without Flights, Dover Ferry(Self drive), Folkestone Ferry(Self drive)
Mon 20 Mar 201720/03/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Stansted
Tue 21 Mar 201721/03/17
available Heathrow
Wed 22 Mar 201722/03/17
available Heathrow
Thu 23 Mar 201723/03/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Stansted, Manchester
Fri 24 Mar 201724/03/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Manchester, Edinburgh
Sat 25 Mar 201725/03/17
£978
Sun 26 Mar 201726/03/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Stansted, Birmingham, Manchester, Without Flights, Dover Ferry(Self drive), Folkestone Ferry(Self drive)
Mon 27 Mar 201727/03/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Stansted
Tue 28 Mar 201728/03/17
available Heathrow
Wed 29 Mar 201729/03/17
available Heathrow
Thu 30 Mar 201730/03/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Stansted, Manchester
Fri 31 Mar 201731/03/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Manchester, Edinburgh
Sat 01 Apr 201701/04/17
£1138
Sun 02 Apr 201702/04/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Stansted, Birmingham, Manchester, Without Flights, Dover Ferry(Self drive), Folkestone Ferry(Self drive)
Mon 03 Apr 201703/04/17
available Gatwick, Heathrow, Stansted
Tue 04 Apr 201704/04/17
available Heathrow
Wed 05 Apr 201705/04/17
available Heathrow
Sat 16 Dec 201716/12/17
available Gatwick, Stansted, Birmingham, Manchester, Leeds/bradford, Without Flights, Dover Ferry(Self drive), Folkestone Ferry(Self drive)
Sat 23 Dec 201723/12/17
£1668£1643
Sat 30 Dec 201730/12/17
£1573
Sat 06 Jan 201806/01/18
£1063
Sat 13 Jan 201813/01/18
£1073
Sat 20 Jan 201820/01/18
£1103
Sat 27 Jan 201827/01/18
£1223
Sat 03 Feb 201803/02/18
£1203
Sat 10 Feb 201810/02/18
£1603
Sat 17 Feb 201817/02/18
£1323
Sat 24 Feb 201824/02/18
£1153
Sat 03 Mar 201803/03/18
£1123
Sat 10 Mar 201810/03/18
£1053
Sat 17 Mar 201817/03/18
£1013
Sat 24 Mar 201824/03/18
£1013
Sat 31 Mar 201831/03/18
£1173
This package holiday to Hotel Sunstar in Grindelwald, Switzerland departs Saturday 11th March 2017, for a 7 night stay on a "half board" board basis. A local tourist tax (Taxe de Sejour or Kurtaxe) is levied by many councils in European ski resorts. It varies by standard and type of accommodation and is age dependent, so not everyone is charged. It's not included in the basic price of your holiday and is usually paid locally. For reference, the average charged in winter 15/16 was between 50p and £2 per person, per night.
+9

Resort - about Grindelwald - about holidays in Grindelwald - about ski holidays in Grindelwald - about ski holidays in Grindelwald Switzerland

Classic ski destination Exciting excursions Linked to the Jungfrau ski area

Grindelwald is a truly classic ski destination. Not only is the resort’s amazing cog-railway system one of the world’s first ski lifts, but the town is also famous as the base for the many daring attempts on the Eiger north face. Today it still draws visitors with its gorgeous scenery, excellent skiing and attractive town centre.

Beginner Intermediate Advanced Snowboard

Great for Families Scenery Short transfers

Grindelwald webcam

Snow Report: Top 80cm, Bottom 25cm

Snow Forecast: 10cm expected this week

Snow History: February average depth 103.67cm

Grindelwald trail map

Approx. airport transfer times depend on conditions:

Bern (BRN)70km, 1h10
Zürich (ZRH)150km, 2h10
Basel (BSL)175km, 2h15
Region:Switzerland, Alps.
First opened:1886

Grindelwald lift pass price last reported as CHF 291.00 (adult 6 day). Ask for a quote when booking Hotel Sunstar.
Night skiing: Yes
Grindelwald has NSEW facing slopes.
Usually open for skiing December-April.

Town altitude: 1034m
Top of slopes: 2500m
Bottom of piste: 944m
Vertical drop: 1556m
Total length of trails:160km
Longest piste:4.5 km (Lauberhorn)
Named one of the 12 ‘Best of the Alps’ resorts for good reason, Grindelwald is the largest and liveliest resort in the Jungfrau ski region. Aside from the stunning views over some of the most iconic mountains in the world, which are a draw in themselves, there is a huge range of fun activities to keep you entertained, including of course, the world-class skiing. Thanks to the laid-back atmosphere and traditional alpine buildings, the town has retained much of its original mountain charm. The resort strikes ...
Grindelwald is ideally placed to make the most of the large Jungfrau ski area, with 3 different lifts departing from the town centre: the Firstbahn gondola, the historic funicular and the Grund-Männlichenbahn gondola. Bodmi, a short shuttle bus ride away, has great nursery slopes with drag lifts and magic carpets, and the local ski school operates from here. The area is ideal for children with a big bunny mascot and a collection of little igloos to play in. On bad snow days, or in the warmer months, whisk you...
This is the largest and busiest resort of the Jungfrau region, with a wide range of restaurants. Treat yourself with the fine French/Swiss dining at La Pendule d'Or, or keep it simple with a tasty pizza at Onkel Tom's Cabin. After you get down from the slopes, recharge with a hot drink and cake at Ringgenberg Tea Room, or a toasty at C&M café. Up on the mountains you’ll find some good lunch options – try the fondue at Berghaus Alpiglen, and don’t miss the Tipi bar at Kleine Scheidegg for a schnapps coffee. I...

Similar Holidays - also Enquired about - travellers also Enquired about - travellers also Enquired about - travellers viewing Hotel Sunstar also Enquired about

Hotel Jungfrau Lodge Grindelwald Switzerland, Bristol to Geneva 11th March.
From £449pp
(1)
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald Switzerland, Bristol to Geneva 11th March.
From £949pp
Romantik Hotel Sc... Grindelwald Switzerland, Bristol to Geneva 11th March.
From £1478pp

Call 020 8133 8899 and quote

Holiday ID 14655870

sno logo

Or simply enquire online

Enquire

← online or call ↴
020 3472 8899
more
1/14: Official Photo Show photo list
1/4 Show webcam list
1/2 Show map list