We're Open
9am-8pm

Package - what's included - what's included & available - what's included plus available extras - what's included & what extras are available

Accommodation
Half Board
Flights Included
Transfers
No Lift Pass
No Ski Rental
No Boot Rental
No Ski School

Location - where is Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald

  • Directly opposite the gondola for Grindelwald's own 'First' ski area
  • The hotel enjoys an ideal location for the skiing and is close to the resort's après-ski and nightlife,
  • 3 minutes' walk (300m) from the village centre
  • The resort bus stops just outside
  • Swiss Short Breaks available from 3 nights upwards

Overview - hotel description - Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald description

Located directly opposite the ‘First’ gondola, the Sunstar is a spacious hotel offering an excellent range of facilities in a convenient location for the skiing and resort amenities. The spa includes large indoor pool and sauna.


Families - any extra notes for parents with children

  • Cots & Linen
  • Highchairs in restaurant

Facilities - Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald features

  • Extensive spa with indoor pool, aroma-steambaths, sauna and fitness room ( free ), massage, beauty treatments and solarium (pay locally)
  • Open-plan lounge with fireplace, pianist in the evenings
  • Cosy bar
  • Dining room
  • à la carte restaurant
  • Weekly activity programme including sledging and snowshoeing (pay locally)
  • Programme of events over Christmas/New Year included
  • Wi-Fi throughout and public PC with internet access ( free )
  • Lift
  • Swimming pool (indoor)
  • Steam bath
  • Sauna
  • Fitness room
  • WiFi
  • Lounge area
  • Solarium

Local Fees and Taxes

Resort tax


Room Types - bathrooms beds & sleeping

  • No. of rooms: 217
  • No. of buildings: 2
  • No. of floors: 5
  • Annex:

    N/A

  • Official rating: 4
  • Twins rooms have bath, radio, minibar, telephone, hairdryer, safe and cable TV.
  • 'Superior' rooms with south-facing balcony have fabulous views of the surrounding mountains, including the Wetterhorn and Eiger
  • 'Comfort' rooms have balcony and face the village
  • 'Economy' rooms are north-facing
  • Single rooms have shower

Bedroom facilities

  • Cable or satellite programmes
  • Hairdryer
  • Minibar or fridge
  • Radio
  • Room safe
  • Telephone
  • Wireless internet

Accessibility

  • Lift accessible: Yes
  • Lift serves all floors: Yes
  • Access ramp: Yes

Opposite First gondola lift, close to the centre. Surrounding area flat, although situated on slight incline from the town centre.


Meals - food and drink in Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald

  • Hot and cold buffet breakfast
  • 4 course evening meal with choice
  • Christmas and New Year gala dinners included
  • Free selection of soft drinks, water and beer in the minibar (alternatives extra)
  • Welcome drink
  • Guests receive a credit of Sfr25 if they wish to dine à la carte
  • No of restaurants: 2
  • Distance to nearest restaurant serving dinner outside of property:

    In hotel

  • Dress code for restaurants:

    Casual

  • Breakfast service:

    Buffet

  • Lunch service:

    Not included

  • Dinner service:

    Waiter

Board basis options available

  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Half Board

This property caters for the following special dietary requirements

  • Diabetics - Insulin can be stored
  • Gluten Free
  • Vegans
  • Vegetarians
We update Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald's details often, but facilities do change. e.g. some extras listed by the supplier as "free" or included might only be for the first time you use them, or for one time per party, then charged for further use. If any specific feature is essential to your holiday, make sure you ask us to confirm the details of it before you book your holiday.

Availability - dates & airports - dates & departure airports - hotel dates & departure airports - Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald dates & departure airports

Price per person with: Prices shown are per person based on: Prices shown are per person based on: The prices shown here are per person and based on the following criteria:
Fri 21 Dec 201821/12/18
£972£932
Sat 22 Dec 201822/12/18
Sold Out 
Sun 23 Dec 201823/12/18
Sold Out 
Mon 24 Dec 201824/12/18
Sold Out 
Tue 25 Dec 201825/12/18
£1176
Wed 26 Dec 201826/12/18
£1176
Thu 27 Dec 201827/12/18
£1196£1136
Fri 28 Dec 201828/12/18
£1166
Sat 29 Dec 201829/12/18
£1260
Sun 30 Dec 201830/12/18
£1300
Mon 31 Dec 201831/12/18
£1160
Tue 01 Jan 201901/01/19
£1076
Wed 02 Jan 201902/01/19
£1276£1216
Thu 03 Jan 201903/01/19
£1186£1146
Fri 04 Jan 201904/01/19
£1009
Sat 05 Jan 201905/01/19
£821
Sun 06 Jan 201906/01/19
£840£821
Mon 07 Jan 201907/01/19
£821
Tue 08 Jan 201908/01/19
£821
Wed 09 Jan 201909/01/19
Sold Out 
Thu 10 Jan 201910/01/19
Sold Out 
Fri 11 Jan 201911/01/19
Sold Out 
Sat 12 Jan 201912/01/19
Sold Out 
Sun 13 Jan 201913/01/19
£803
Mon 14 Jan 201914/01/19
£803
Tue 15 Jan 201915/01/19
£803
Wed 16 Jan 201916/01/19
£803
Thu 17 Jan 201917/01/19
£851
Fri 18 Jan 201918/01/19
£851
Sat 19 Jan 201919/01/19
£871
Sun 20 Jan 201920/01/19
£871
Mon 21 Jan 201921/01/19
£880
Tue 22 Jan 201922/01/19
£871
Wed 23 Jan 201923/01/19
£871
Thu 24 Jan 201924/01/19
available 1 sharing
Fri 25 Jan 201925/01/19
available 1 sharing
Sat 26 Jan 201926/01/19
available 1 sharing
Sun 27 Jan 201927/01/19
available 1 sharing
Mon 28 Jan 201928/01/19
available 1 sharing
Tue 29 Jan 201929/01/19
available 1 sharing
Wed 30 Jan 201930/01/19
available 1 sharing
Thu 31 Jan 201931/01/19
available 1 sharing
Fri 01 Feb 201901/02/19
available 1 sharing
Sat 02 Feb 201902/02/19
£852£843
Sun 03 Feb 201903/02/19
£843
Mon 04 Feb 201904/02/19
£843
Tue 05 Feb 201905/02/19
£843
Wed 06 Feb 201906/02/19
£843
Thu 07 Feb 201907/02/19
£843
Fri 08 Feb 201908/02/19
£843
Sat 09 Feb 201909/02/19
£872
Sun 10 Feb 201910/02/19
£863
Mon 11 Feb 201911/02/19
£863
Tue 12 Feb 201912/02/19
£863
Wed 13 Feb 201913/02/19
£863
Thu 14 Feb 201914/02/19
£956
Fri 15 Feb 201915/02/19
£1065
Sat 16 Feb 201916/02/19
£1585£1505
Sun 17 Feb 201917/02/19
£1315
Mon 18 Feb 201918/02/19
£1195
Tue 19 Feb 201919/02/19
£1265
Wed 20 Feb 201920/02/19
£1645£1585
Thu 21 Feb 201921/02/19
available 1 sharing
Fri 22 Feb 201922/02/19
available 1 sharing
Sat 23 Feb 201923/02/19
£901
Sun 24 Feb 201924/02/19
£901
Mon 25 Feb 201925/02/19
£910£901
Tue 26 Feb 201926/02/19
£901
Wed 27 Feb 201927/02/19
£901
Thu 28 Feb 201928/02/19
£901
Fri 01 Mar 201901/03/19
£901
Sat 02 Mar 201902/03/19
£852£843
Sun 03 Mar 201903/03/19
£843
Mon 04 Mar 201904/03/19
£843
Tue 05 Mar 201905/03/19
£852£843
Wed 06 Mar 201906/03/19
£843
Thu 07 Mar 201907/03/19
£881
Fri 08 Mar 201908/03/19
£871
Sat 09 Mar 201909/03/19
£821
Sun 10 Mar 201910/03/19
£821
Mon 11 Mar 201911/03/19
£821
Tue 12 Mar 201912/03/19
£821
Wed 13 Mar 201913/03/19
£821
Thu 14 Mar 201914/03/19
£821
Fri 15 Mar 201915/03/19
£821
Sat 16 Mar 201916/03/19
£734
Sun 17 Mar 201917/03/19
£734
Mon 18 Mar 201918/03/19
£734
Tue 19 Mar 201919/03/19
£734
Wed 20 Mar 201920/03/19
£734
Thu 21 Mar 201921/03/19
£734
Fri 22 Mar 201922/03/19
£734
Sat 23 Mar 201923/03/19
£804
Sun 24 Mar 201924/03/19
£804
Mon 25 Mar 201925/03/19
£804
Tue 26 Mar 201926/03/19
£804
Wed 27 Mar 201927/03/19
£804
Thu 28 Mar 201928/03/19
£804
Fri 29 Mar 201929/03/19
£804
Sat 30 Mar 201930/03/19
£913
Sun 31 Mar 201931/03/19
£893£883
Mon 01 Apr 201901/04/19
£883
Tue 02 Apr 201902/04/19
£874
Wed 03 Apr 201903/04/19
£953
This package holiday to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald in Grindelwald, Switzerland departs Wednesday 20th March 2019, for a 3 night stay on a "half board" board basis. A local tourist tax (Taxe de Sejour or Kurtaxe) is levied by many councils in European ski resorts. It varies by standard and type of accommodation and is age dependent, so not everyone is charged. It's not included in the basic price of your holiday and is usually paid locally. For reference, the average charged in winter 15/16 was between 50p and £2 per person, per night.
+13

Resort - about Grindelwald - about holidays in Grindelwald - about ski holidays in Grindelwald - about ski holidays in Grindelwald Switzerland

Classic ski destination Exciting excursions Linked to the Jungfrau ski area

Grindelwald is a truly classic ski destination. Not only is the resort’s amazing cog-railway system one of the world’s first ski lifts, but the town is also famous as the base for the many daring attempts on the Eiger north face. Today it still draws visitors with its gorgeous scenery, excellent skiing and attractive town centre.

Beginner Intermediate Advanced Snowboard

Great for Families Scenery Short transfers

Grindelwald webcam

Snow Report: Top 0cm, Bottom 0cm

Snow Forecast: 2cm expected this week

Snow History: November average depth 20.17cm

Grindelwald trail map

Approx. airport transfer times depend on conditions:

Bern (BRN)70km, 1h10
Zürich (ZRH)150km, 2h10
Basel (BSL)175km, 2h15
Region:Switzerland, Alps.
First opened:1886

Grindelwald lift pass price last reported as CHF 291.00 (adult 6 day). Ask for a quote when booking Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald.
Night skiing: Yes
Grindelwald has NSEW facing slopes.
Usually open for skiing December-April.

Town altitude: 1034m
Top of slopes: 2500m
Bottom of piste: 944m
Vertical drop: 1556m
Total length of trails:160km
Longest piste:4.5 km (Lauberhorn)
Named one of the 12 ‘Best of the Alps’ resorts for good reason, Grindelwald is the largest and liveliest resort in the Jungfrau ski region. Aside from the stunning views over some of the most iconic mountains in the world, which are a draw in themselves, there is a huge range of fun activities to keep you entertained, including of course, the world-class skiing. Thanks to the laid-back atmosphere and traditional alpine buildings, the town has retained much of its original mountain charm. The resort strikes ...
Grindelwald is ideally placed to make the most of the large Jungfrau ski area, with 3 different lifts departing from the town centre: the Firstbahn gondola, the historic funicular and the Grund-Männlichenbahn gondola. Bodmi, a short shuttle bus ride away, has great nursery slopes with drag lifts and magic carpets, and the local ski school operates from here. The area is ideal for children with a big bunny mascot and a collection of little igloos to play in. On bad snow days, or in the warmer months, whisk you...
This is the largest and busiest resort of the Jungfrau region, with a wide range of restaurants. Treat yourself with the fine French/Swiss dining at La Pendule d'Or, or keep it simple with a tasty pizza at Onkel Tom's Cabin. After you get down from the slopes, recharge with a hot drink and cake at Ringgenberg Tea Room, or a toasty at C&M café. Up on the mountains you’ll find some good lunch options – try the fondue at Berghaus Alpiglen, and don’t miss the Tipi bar at Kleine Scheidegg for a schnapps coffee. I...

Similar Holidays - also Enquired about - travellers also Enquired about - travellers also Enquired about - travellers viewing Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald also Enquired about

Hotel Eiger Grindelwald Switzerland, Heathrow to Zurich 20th March.
From £706pp
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald Switzerland, Heathrow to Zurich 20th March.
From £822pp
Romantik Hotel Sc... Grindelwald Switzerland, Heathrow to Zurich 20th March.
From £862pp

Call 020 7770 6888 and quote

Holiday ID 21614787

sno logo

Or simply enquire online

Enquire

← online or call ↴
020 7770 6888
more
1/18: Official Photo Show photo list
1/3 Show webcam list
1/2 Show map list